top of page

Neon Wonderland - Gods Own Junkyard


This weekend myself and Saoirse decided to head to Gods Own Junkyard, one of London's many hidden gems. It's been on my list to go and visit for so long now, so on Saturday I finally got to see what all the hype was about.

Located in Walthamstow approximately 15 minutes from the tube you will find GOJ in a industrial estate, surrounded by brewery's and a fantastic Gin palace next door, so you can make a day out of the trip which is exactly what we did.

Surprisingly, there was no fee to enter which makes it the ideal spot to visit when you're on a budget. Judging from the pictures online I thought it would be a lot bigger but honestly there is so much to see, we did about 3 loops to make sure we saw everything.

It really feels like a heaven for neon signs, there's so much colour and light you don't know where to look first. I wish I could have taken some bits home with me, especially the Louis Vuitton/Chanel statue.

It's very quirky and definitely the perfect location for some photo opportunities, as you can see I took complete advantage of that.

Vogue magazine actually did a shoot here in 2011 and one of the photos even made the cover!

Inside they have a café called 'The Rolling Scones', we didn't eat there but the sponge cake looked divine. Me and Saoirse were more interested in trying the Gin bar next door. We tried the homemade gin, which tasted incredible, made with sweet orange peals, vanilla, nutmeg and more ingredients. It was just the perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.

I'm not a massive fan of museums but this was my kind of 'art', it was great to be surrounded by such incredible pieces, film props, statues, vintage diner signs and more, it made you wander where each piece came from.

I definitely recommend coming here if you're in London, it was something different to do and so much fun!

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend.

Besos,

Zoë Elizabeth

OUTFIT DETAILS

Top and jeans - Topshop, click here for jeans and similar top here

Runners - Adidas, Yung 1, all white version here


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page