top of page

What a Year it's Been - Highlights of the year


With my 25th birthday hanging over me tomorrow I thought I’d highlight my favourite moments of the year. Of course, every year has it’s ups and downs but I want to look at all the amazing moments that made it a year to remember. If you asked me when I was younger what I thought I’d be doing at 25 I’m pretty sure my younger self would have had a very different idea. The bottom line is, I’m happy and that’s something I’ve only learnt this year. You can have lots of nice things or a well paid job but none of it matters if you're not happy. So this year, I've tried to not take life too seriously, and that’s exactly how I’m going to continue living my life.

1. Bens surprise 18th

The youngest out of the Palmer household turned 18 in September and of course being the last to turn 18 in the family, it had to be a big one. Ben's girlfriend, Charley (the sweetest girl ever!) organised a surprise party with all Ben's friends. Honestly, it was the most difficult challenge to keep him away from the house while they were decorating but it was all worth it seeing the look on his face, he literally had no idea. Surprise Birthdays are literally the best and no I'm not hinting that I want one tomorrow..

2. Madrid

If you've been following me for a while you'll know that I lived in Madrid for a few years. I studied there for 2 years when I was in college. It has been a year since I visited Madrid so I was well overdue a visit to my old home so last October I went back and had such a great long weekend.

I caught up with old friends, ate in my favourite tapas restaurants and shopped in one of my favourite stores, Brandy Melville. Madrid is definitely one of my favourite cities, make sure to read my blog posts on my favourite restaurants if you ever plan a trip there (click here).

3. My Blog's 1st Birthday

It's hard to believe that only last November my blog turned 1! I honestly can't remember what I did with my spare time before this - it's really become my biggest passion. To tell you the truth, the reason I created it was to contribute a small part of my style to the fashion world as I was fed up with trying to break into the industry, so I decided to create my own opportunities. The aim was never to earn money from it but if I can make a living from it one day that would be incredible. Sure if other people are doing it why can't I?

I've met some really good friends through blogging and even people online who I've never met who have been so supportive which I really appreciate. Blogging allowed me to make friends when I didn't have many in Dublin and that's one of the biggest things I'm grateful for.

4. NYC BABY

I'm sure you're all sick of hearing about my trip to New York but I really fell in love with the place. Apart from being in the most incredible city I've ever seen it was really down to spending the week with my best friend Saoirse. We haven't been able to see much of each other with living in different countries so it was nice to spend time with her and just be our crazy selfs. Of course, now with being in London I live just around the corner from her so I'll be able to annoy her all the time.

(NYC Blog posts, click here)

5. The Aussie Blog Awards

This was hands down one of the most surprising nights of my life and to be totally honest, the best thing I've ever achieved in my life, even more than graduating. I wrote a blog post about the night so I won't go into too much detail (click here to read). I think one of the most important things I can take away from this year is to believe in yourself. I know how cringey that sounds but I'm terrible for constantly putting myself down and it's taught me that if you work hard for something that you really want, you can do anything. I cannot wait to share my trip to Australia with you.

6. Summer Holidays in Menorca

Menorca is one of the most beautiful islands I've been to, with stunning beaches, incredible food and great weather. What more could you want?! I've made more of an effort to travel this year and it's been worth every penny.

7. Home for the Summer

Before moving to London I decided to go home for a month, which was the longest time I've been home in years. I always missed my family when I lived in Dublin so it was great to spend some time with them before heading off to the UK. It was like being on holidays with them as the weather in Tramore was incredible and we ended up having BBQ's most nights and maybe too much wine. It also helped that my Mum and sister were watching Love Island so we watched it together almost every night. Nothing beats being home.

8. A New Chapter

I finally moved to London at the end of July and so far I love it. I was a bit hesitant with the move at first as I've never really spent much time here before but I'm already getting attached to this wild city. I love how different each part of London is, it's like its own world.

With work and the apartment it's all starting to feel like a home here and I couldn't be happier. There's so much I want to see and do, but more importantly eat my way through the city - sure that's the main reason I moved here ;)

Well that's all from me for now. I'll see you on the older side of 20.

I hope everyone is having a good week!

Besos,

Zoë Elizabeth


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page