top of page

My Skincare Secrets


About a year ago I made a promise to myself that I would start to take better care of my skin and I can honestly say that making a few small changes to your skin care routine will do wonders for you.

1. Ditch the makeup wipes (or minimise use)

I used to depend on makeup wipes to remove makeup everyday. I knew they were bad for me especially since my skin became quite sensitive after using them.

The hard part is kicking the habit which can be so difficult as they are just so handy, you're probably better off just throwing them in the bin so you don't get tempted. I'm not going to lie, I use them if I'm really stuck or if I've come in from a night out.

The reason why they're so bad for you is because of the high alcohol content, and personally I prefer to keep my alcohol in a glass.

2. SUNCREAM IS NON NEGOTIABLE

We should be wearing suncream everyday - this is something I learned from Sinead in Therapie Clinic on my first consultation with her. I thought you only needed suncream in sunny weather but we really should be wearing it everyday especially in Winter with harsh wind and rain conditions.

I wear a factor 32 everyday under my makeup or just on its own on. There's so many moisturisers and foundations out there that have sun cream in them so make sure you're buying ones with protection.

One of my favourite products from the entire Image skincare range is this moisturiser, it smells incredible and it gives a lovely glow to your skin.

3. Treat yourself to a facial/peel

Every 6 weeks+ I make an effort to book myself in for a facial. I've been going to Sinead in Therapie Clinic, Molesworth St. (she is seriously the best in the business!). What I love about going to Therapie is that they tailor your facial to the condition of your skin. Recently I went through a bit of a stressful moment in my life which caused my skin to break out quite badly so Sinead decided to go with an acne-peel and within days my skin was completely back to normal.

I've also had the '4 layer facelift peel' which is incredible!

In short, this peel will brighten, tighten and lighten your skin in just one treatment. We choose this treatment as my skin was looking dull and needed to be brought back to life. This does NOT involve any needles or fillers, it is purely just vitamin C, glycolic acid and gentle but highly active enzymes. You can read all about the Image skincare treatments that Therapie Clinic offer here.

4. Take a break from makeup

The minute I get in the door everyday I take off my makeup, mainly because I hate the feel of it on my face but this also gives my skin the break it needs. I try to avoid makeup for at least one day a week to let my skin breathe and I've noticed this really improves my complexion.

5. Invest in good skincare products

I know skincare products can be quite costly but the thing I find with skincare is that a little goes a long way. In the long run you will thank yourself for investing in products with safe, proven active ingredients.

Something I've just learnt is to always read the ingredients on the product. If it includes alcohol, drop the product and walk away.

Here are some of my favourite products that I use religiously on my skin.

Other brands I love are:

- Kiehls

- Glossier

- Clinique

Garnier

6. Drink Water!

This is probably one of the most important ways to look after your skin. Drinking water is crucial for keeping skin hydrated especially if you have dry skin. Water flushes out toxins and impurities so make sure you're drinking enough to save your skin from breakouts.

They say you should be drinking 2 liters a day but I try aim for 3!

I hope you found this blog post helpful and please feel free to subscribe to my blog to keep updated with my posts!

Besos,

Zoë Elizabeth

*All image products I’ve used were gifted to me and I’ve been using them for over 6 months now.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page