top of page

Must See Sights in NYC


It has been over a month since I got back from my trip to New York and honestly, I haven't stopped thinking about it since I got off the plane. I'm sure if you follow me on Instagram (@zoeelizabethblog) you can tell that I haven't stopped thinking about it, I'm sorry but the spam will never end and I'm sure you can relate if you've been before.

For those of you who don't know me, I grew up in a small town and have always dreamt of big cities, particularly New York. I always had an idea of what it would be like to go to New York. I imagined it to be like the movies so I had really high expectations and they were definitely exceeded.

The people are friendly, the food is out of the this world and the energy in the city is something else, I really felt at home. Everyone I met spoke so highly of New York, they were so passionate about the city, it was contagious.

As I mentioned in my previous NYC blog post (click here and here) I didn't even manage to get half the things on my bucket-list ticked off. I would have needed a life time to get through it but at least I'll know what to do for my next trip. I'll admit, we spent most of our time pigging out in the nicest restaurants as food is always the priority when it comes to travelling but the sights we did see were incredible and definitely worth it.

Here's a list of places you must see when visiting The Big Apple.

1. GRAND CENTRAL STATION

89 E 42nd St, New York, NY 10017

This is exactly how you see it in the movies but better. It's exactly like the flashmob scene from Friends with Benefits (without the flashmob). What impressed me the most was the ceiling, it's like a night sky covered in star signs, it's stunning.

As you can imagine it is extremely busy, this is where you'll get a taste of the fast-paced New York City life. Commuting in New York can't be too bad if you get to walk through this incredible building everyday.

Me and the girls went to a speak easy bar inside the station which was such a cool experience, we only stayed for one cocktail because it was so pricey.

2. CENTRAL PARK

New York, NY

There was still a small bit of snow on the ground when we visited Central Park which was so pretty but I would have loved to see it around Christmas time, i'd say it's incredible.

I was surprised how quiet Central Park was when just a few steps away you're back in the madness of New York City. I'm sure Central Park is such a nice escape when you need some quiet time away from the city.

I know I would spend so much of my time in Central Park if I lived there, especially in the summer for picnics and chilling in the sun all day.

3. THE MET STEPS

1000 5th Ave, New York, NY 10028

We walked here after central park and it was still lashing so we had to sit on wet steps, god the things we do for pictures. I would have loved to sit here and people watch for a while but the weather was just too bad.

This is one of my favourite pictures from the whole trip. We were laughing because I wouldn't sit down properly on the steps. Saoirse has been my best friend for years now so it was nice to have our Gossip Girl moment here.

4. TIMES SQUARE

Manhattan, NY 10036

Probably one of the coolest places I've ever been. I know it's so cliché but I'm obsessed with tall buildings and bright lights so this was everything I was hoping for. I only saw it at nighttime but I'd say this is the best time to go.

This was a pinch me moment as traveling to New York has always been a dream and this was a moment I waited so long for.

After this we went to Juniors which is an American-style diner. It's the perfect spot for burgers (and prosecco) in the heart of Times Square and OMG the portions were literally a joke, I love my food A LOT but I couldn't for the life of me finish it.

5. DUMBO

Brooklyn, NY 11201

We walked here by accident when we were trying to find a way to get up to Brooklyn Bridge, we only had 30 minutes to kill before dinner so we stopped and got pictures here. If I could live anywhere in the world it would be here. The streets are so pretty and the buildings are absolutely incredible plus, you have the stunning view of Brooklyn Bridge at your doorstep.

It was nighttime when we were here and the bridge looked amazing lit up. There was a wedding party getting photos just under the bridge, you can see a bride and groom behind me in the photo below.

Next time I'll visit Dumbo during the day, I'd love to explore the area more.

6. CHELSEA MARKET

75 9th Ave, New York, NY 10011

Probably the snazziest market I've ever been to. Think concept stores, speciality foods, and crafts located in the coolest area in New York.

As you may know, I adore jewellery and this is perfect spot to buy some unique, handmade pieces. I bought the prettiest emerald ring here at one of the jewellery stalls.

You need to visit Jeffrey New York if you're in the area. It's just around the corner from Chelsea Market. It's probably the coolest designer store I've ever been in. They stock iconic designers from accessories, ready-to-wear and shoes but it's not like your normal designer store. All the bits they have are so unique, the most outrageous statement pieces you have ever seen, my kind of heaven!

7. FLAT IRON

Flatiron District, New York, NY

The Flat Iron has been my wallpaper on my phone for the past few months so I wasn't leaving New York until I visited it.

The funny thing is we couldn't find it for ages because we were standing at one side of it.

I would definitely recommend going to visit it, it's so impressive and the area is lovely we even managed to find a bar that did 5 dollar prosecco at happy hour.

So apart from stuffing our faces this is the extent of the sightseeing we did in New York.

Yes, I know, Brooklyn Bridge is missing and I'm so angry at myself that I didn't make enough time to walk it but it's at the top of the list for when I return.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post.

Besos,

Zoë Elizabeth


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page